The structure of the solar system

img_2693Situated in the Milky Way, the solar system, originated about 4.6 B years ago, consists of the Sun and the bodies within its gravitational influence. Not just the 8 planets ,but also other objects like moons, asteroids and comets orbit it. At the heart of the universe is the star we call Sun. Because it’s heating, it can sustain life on earth! The 8 planets are classified in 2 groups. Nearest to Sun are four inner rocky planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. Lying outside Mars’ orbit is the Main Belt of  asteroids; it also contains the *dwarf planet Ceres. Beyond are the outher gas giant planets: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. Beyond Neptune is The Kuiper Belt which is an enormous disk of cold bodies, known as Kuiper Belt Objects or KBO’s!

Credits:. Smithsonian NATURE guide: Stars and Planets